#### **COUNCIL - DECISION NOTICE**

9 January 2025

## Present:-

Councillors T Adams, M Asvachin, Y Atkinson, S Aves, J Bailey, J Berry, F Biederman, J Bradford, J Brazil, P Bullivant, R Chesterton, I Chubb, A Connett, P Crabb, R Croad, A Davis, A Dewhirst, R Gilbert, R Hannaford, J Hart (Chair), M Hartnell, J Hawkins, L Hellyer, P Henderson, J Hodgson, S Hughes, S Randall Johnson, S Khan, A Leadbetter, C Leaver, P Maskell (Vice-Chair), D McGeough, J McInnes, J Morrish, R Peart, P Prowse, R Radford, I Roome, L Samuel, P Sanders, A Saywell, R Scott, D Sellis, C Slade, D Thomas, J Trail BEM, P Twiss, C Whitton, J Wilton-Love and J Yabsley

## Apologies:-

Councillors D Barnes, J Brook, H Gent, G Gribble, I Hall, F Letch MBE, M Squires and M Wrigley

# 7 <u>English Devolution White Paper: Government Invitation for Local</u> Government Reorganisation

## The Council **RESOLVED** to:

- (a) Support the Leader of the Council to submit a letter of intent to Government committing to the Government's ambitious programme enabling the Council to Develop plans for local government reorganisation and deliver a Mayoral Strategic Authority.
- (b) As a consequence of joining this ambitious programme the County Council will make a request to Government to postpone the County Council elections due to take place in May 2025 to provide the capacity on which reorganisation and mayoral devolution can progress at pace in 2025 to ensure the benefits of reorganisation and devolution for the area are realised as quickly as possible.
- (c) The council will thereafter work at pace to develop full proposals for reorganisation in line with Government guidance which will be issued in January 2025, working with and alongside partners to develop plans for sustainable unitary structures which meet the needs and aspirations of the varied localities within the Devon area, including those of Plymouth, Exeter and Torbay as well as the coastal and market towns and rural areas.